J. Tex – Misery 180g Vinyl(12″)

J. Tex – Misery 180g Vinyl(12″) LIMITED 500 Copys

Looking back on summer 2008, Rob from Heptown Records and I had the idea of making a solo album of the music I had been playing on our road trips together the last few years. Rob and his great gang of volunteers, them selling Hot Rod magazines, blue jeans, t–shirts and music, we call it the “Heptown lifestyle”, and me playing the music. And we were selling my albums on these trips, meeting folks that loved the true country sound. We always had a place to stay and a warm beer to drink.

When possible we brought along my band, J.Tex & the Volunteers, but much too often the costs ran too high, so going solo or as a duo proved to be an inexpensive way of getting out there meeting folks, playing the songs and having great fun.

By 2008 J.Tex & the Volunteers had already made two albums with Heptown Records. This time we wanted to catch that special summer night feeling we had experienced, a feeling that includes music, dust, old-time cars and a great crowd. And to make it just right, we found the greatest little studio located in an old schoolhouse near Lund, Sweden. The studio is now known as “House on the Hill” with Carl Granberg as the man in charge.

These twelve songs were recorded in three days. I asked my best and oldest buddy, Frank Borg, bass/banjo player and singer-songwriter, to cross the sea that third and final day and join in on this album. Andi Almqvist, a Swedish singer-songwriter from Malmö and also a dear friend, came by, making the song “Union Army” sparkle with his voice and musical talent. To make the day just perfect, Svante Sjöblom joined the party and was thrown in on “One of these days”. All in all, this album was made in the true family & good friends way. I hope you will enjoy this album. And that not only this album, but all music you may listen to, will shine on you and make every day a better day.

Music Rules!




1. Misery

2. Day By Day

3. What A Bummer

4. Newsman In Town

5. Wabash Cannonball

6. Good Friends


1. Bring U Down

2. Black & Blue Blues

3. One Of These Days

4. Union Army

5. Ain´t Got No Home

6. Omise Wise

via J. Tex – Misery 180g Vinyl(12″) | HepTown Records | Get it @ HepCat Store.

Leave a Reply