Nosey Joe & The Pool Kings – Tunes from the Bighouse

Nosey Joe & The Pool Kings – Tunes from the Bighouse

Nasty, raw swing/rhythm’n’blues with its roots in the 40’s club scene.

Nosey Joe & The Pool Kings’ second release “Tunes from the Bighouse” sets the band straight at the top of the scene.

With an outstanding rhythm section and its deep roots, this nine piece band is really showing what’s what as they deliver hit on hit. Mean, bad-ass covers such as “Sapphire” by Big Danny Oliver to Scatman Crothers version of “Ghost riders in the sky” are blended into an explosive cocktail with their on material.

Nosey Joe & The Pool Kings are reaching to the roots of music and with Lil’ Linn’s guest appearance on the duet “Knock Knock” they have already set their mark in history. This great mix of swing, rhythm & blues and rock & roll really takes us on a wild ride.

This band is packed with talent. Ubbe Rydeslätt, Nosey Joe’s frontman, unsheats his talents as great singer and skilled writer. As former member of Snakepit Rebels he spent quite some time in the well-known “Abbey Road” studio. But that’s not all, guitar player Totte, played on The Go Getters’ debut record and bassist Mika is originally from Knock-Out Greg and the Blue Weather. The band is further backed by the infamous Johnny Blue Orchestra’s awesome brass section.

However brilliant the album is, Nosey Joe & The Pool Kings should absolutely be experienced live. This band totally overwhelms its audiences with a sound from the old times remade for the scene of today.


1. Sapphire (Danny Zella)

2. Drink (U. Rydeslätt)

3. Oh Whee (Domino/Bartholomew)

4. Leave Your Blues (U. Rydeslätt)

5. Knock Knock (U. Rydeslätt)

6. Ghost Riders In The Sky (Jones)

7. 4 Girls (B. Dahlberg)

8. Much Later (Turner)

9. A Girls Advice (U. Rydeslätt/T. Brandt)

10. Jitterbug Rag (U. Rydeslätt)

11. There Was A Man (U. Rydeslätt)

12. Bongo Boogie (Glover/Nix)

13. Mexican Night (U. Rydeslätt)

via Nosey Joe & The Pool Kings – Tunes from the Bighouse | HepTown Records | Get it @ HepCat Store.

Leave a Reply